Grief and Loss

When we think of the word “grief,” it is most often associated with death, but actually grief is about loss, and loss can come in many forms.
As well as bereavement, other losses include:


Feelings of grief can be overwhelming.
Some of the most common reactions to loss are:

  • Feelings of loneliness and isolation

  • Difficulty concentrating

  • Numbness

  • Guilt  or regret

  • Anxiety 

  • Anger

  • Feelings of fatigue

The Grieving Process

Grief expert Kübler-Ross  identified five stages of grief: denial, anger, bargaining, depression and acceptance.


While these may be common experiences to people who are grieving, it it is important to know that grief doesn't progress from stage to stage in a predictable pattern,  not everyone will experience every stage , and everyone has their own unique experience of grieving. 

There is no  " right " or "normal" way to grieve - and there is no expected timetable for grieving.  Some people start feeling better in weeks, some may take a year or more. The process can't be hurried, and again, everyone is different.

Grief can often make us want to withdraw from others and isolate ourselves.  But having  support of other people  and expressing your emotions is  vital to healing from loss.